Game Theory Nobelists

image hover
Project Details

The following list of Nobel Prize winners received such an award because of their work on Game Theory and its impact in Economics.

1972: Ken Arrow

Prize motivation: "for their pioneering contributions to general economic equilibrium theory and welfare theory"

Field: general equilibrium theory, welfare theory

1994: John Nash, Reinhard Selter, John Harsanyi

Prize motivation: "for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games"

Field: game theory

2005: Tom Schelling and Robert Aumann

Prize motivation: "for having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis"

Field: game theory

2007: Leonid Hurwicz, Eric Maskin, Roger Myerson

Prize motivation: "for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory"

Field: microeconomics

2009: Lin Ostrom

Prize motivation: "for her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons"

Field: economic governance

2012: Al Roth and Lloyd Shapley

Prize motivation: "for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design"

Field: applied game theory

2014: Jean Tirole

Prize motivation: "for his analysis of market power and regulation"

Field: industrial organization, microeconomics

2016: Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmström

Prize motivation: "for their contributions to contract theory"

2017: Richard Thaler

Prize motivation: "for his contributions to behavioural economics"

2020: Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson

Prize motivation: "for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats”


Download the documents related to this project here
General info